Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this forum and wanted to ask some questions about upgrading my Delta 10" contractor's saw.

I've been considering a new miter system (Incra 1000SE) as well as a new fence system (Delta) and fabricating my own table saw extensions.

Can anyone offer any insights into any of these ideas? On a limited budget, which should I prioritize?

I'm especially looking for ideas on fabricating extension tables - I've never seen an example and as an amateur woodworker, I'm not sure where to start. My workshop doubles as a garage, so space considerations are an issue. Fold away extensions would be attractive, I'm not sure how to approach this.

·
Registered
789 Posts
Not to hijack, but as other guys chime in on this one, has anyone seen a sliding table that is made from melamine board and square tubing? That might be an asset on a contractor style saw.

And, welcome to the forum phunt!

·
Registered
714 Posts
Hi Phunt and welcome.
If you go to www.augusthome.com and do some searches, you should be able to come up with some tablesaw extension plans. They publish Shop Notes and Woodsmith and have lots of that kind of thing.
If I were in your shoes, I would worry about my fence first. If the one that came with your saw is just beyond calibrating, etc., you can go with several upgrades. I have a 12" Delta Rockwell contractors saw and bought a Vega for mine. It didn't break the bank and works great.
Make some scarificial fences and other add-ons for it and you'll be all set in the ripping department (as long as the blade is good, true and sits parralel with the miter slot)
I would save my money on the miter guage and opt for building some sleds. There are a lot of professionals out there that use there own shop-made sleds instead of buying some pretty pricey guages.