Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I bought a stand for my table saw (Harbor Freight Tools brand) and added a 3/4" plywood top to it. I'm planning on cutting a hole in the center to allow for sawdust collection in a bag. This is my first time getting involved in woodworking so bear with me. Is the idea of cutting a whole in the center of the plywood good. The table saw is really light, I'd say about 35-45 pounds. Would the plywood hold as long as I have it bolted to the frame? I can send pictures if needed.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
205 Posts
You plan to bolt the plywood between the saw and the base if I understand correct. I can't imagine any problem as long as nothing interferes with moving parts. It may even help deadening sound and vibration through additional mass. Have to consider how to remove the bag once it is full though.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You plan to bolt the plywood between the saw and the base if I understand correct. I can't imagine any problem as long as nothing interferes with moving parts. It may even help deadening sound and vibration through additional mass. Have to consider how to remove the bag once it is full though.
Thanks for the reply. Yes, the plywood is bolted down to the stand, I'm actually planning on screwing extra bolts to increase firmness. As for the bag, I will screw pins that came with it to the underside of the plywood. They work as buttons. If that doesn't work well, I'd have to build a light weight box with a latch and attach it to the underside.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What kind of table saw is it. A lot of table saws have a port to hook a vacuum hose to draw out the dust. Does your saw have a port like that?