Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new here but I've been lurking for quite a while. I've got a chance to buy a used Powermatic 64 tablesaw with a Bismeier fence for $350.00. The saw seems to be in good shape - although I have actually seen it first hand.

My only issue with it is that it's only got a 1.5 HP motor.

The question is; can I upgrade to a 2.5 hp or maybe a new power source and a 3 HP motor in the future with this saw? I'm a complete newb when it comes to this and I've got no idea what my options are.

Could someone point me in the right direction for some info, or maybe let me know if it's even possible or if it's more trouble than it's worth. I can research it later.

Thanks in advance

·
where's my table saw?
27,857 Posts
based on the manual...

http://content.powermatic.com/assets/manuals/1791229K_man_EN.pdf

The motor mount appears to be "proprietary" or of a specialized design intended for only certain saws. That's going to be your issue...JMO. The manual calls for 1.75 HP, not 1.5 HP...? Why not just use the saw as is, make 2 passes for deep cuts and "make do"? If it won't suit your requirements, then sell it and upgrade to a more powerful saw. It is only a "contractor" saw, not a cabinet saw. You'll get exactly what you pay for. Not worth trying to upgrade unless you find a motor cheap. Try Ebay.

A thin kerf blade will also make deeper cuts using less power.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new here but I've been lurking for quite a while. I've got a chance to buy a used Powermatic 64 tablesaw with a Bismeier fence for $350.00. The saw seems to be in good shape - although I have actually seen it first hand.

My only issue with it is that it's only got a 1.5 HP motor.