Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I have a table saw from Harbor Freight and I was wondering if anyone here owns the same saw, could tell me if any modifications can be done to it. First thing I noticed is that the fence is total crap and the riving knife is not aligned to the blade by maybe 1/16". I tried fixing it but it's no use. I'm thinking of adding 3/4" plywood to each side of the fence. The other problem I see is the blade insert which is pretty much crap also. My main purpose is to cut small pieces of wood for small projects since space is very limited in my garage. I'm not a pro, just a beginner so I'm still learning. I want the cuts as accurate and square as possible. Anyway, I attached a picture so you can see what saw I'm talking about.

Attachments

·
Registered
531 Posts
Not a saw I would put any money into upgrading as it's pretty much a portable jobsite saw. You can put wood faces on the fence (try melamine if you must), and you should be able to bend (by hand) the riving knife to be in line with the blade.
You can get a good hybrid saw that will have the same footprint as that one (with it's stand) and will be much better off.

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
It sounds harsh, but I'd add a for sale sign to it, and leave it at that. Seriously....get what you can and cut your losses. Saws like these have such poor design and construction that's there's not much that can be done to help them. In it's place, see if you can pick up a full size cast iron saw with a belt drive induction motor. Craigslist in our area has offerings on a regular basis that would be an upgrade for your HF saw.....$30-$100. If you were to list your geographic location, someone here might be able to offer or find a deal for you.

Some reading to help with your replacement saw....

·
where's my table saw?
29,617 Posts
depending if it's not that old