Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total newbe to woodworking, only done a few small project over the years. I always had the desire but never the time. I am currently setting up a shop in my garage. I am 68, so I only want to buy equipment one time. I already bought a drill press, Delta 18-900L and I am now looking for a good TS. I have done all the reading and searching on the forum, as well as the rest of the web and I have decided on either the Steel City 35955, 35975, or the Grizzly G0690. If I get the 35955 I will wire it for 220.

I don't plan an any really large projects, mostly some tables, bookcases, racks and such. As I gain some experience I may expand my selections. My question is this, the 3 hp saws will cost me about $500+ total, movable base and renting an engine lift to get it set up, over the SC 35955. Are the 3 Hp saws really that much better than a 1 3/4 HP saw, for a home shop like I am setting up?

Earl

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Depends on what you'll be making/cutting. Of your going to be cutting mostly 3/4 stock or thinner of softer wood, the 1.75 hp will be fine. If your going to be ripping 3 inch thick legs or working with a lot of really hard woods....then the 3 hp would be nice to have.

·
where's my table saw?
29,617 Posts
agreed

The 3 Hp saw is more of a "production" or "industrial" saw than the 1.75 Hp. For the type of projects you mentioned that should be fine. A thin kerf blade reduces the power require to rip through thicker stock because it remove a smaller chip/chunk of material. You can make more than one pass on a thicker piece to get all the way through.