Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a DW745. I was ripping a piece of pine tonight and even though I got it through with no issues I felt like it was fighting me. It wasnt smooth to get it through.

Even after the cut I took the keeper piece and put it back through with the saw off in between the blade and the fence and it was still fairly hard.

Any suggestion? Is this how its suppose to be? Im a newbie to table saws.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Often times when ripping the piece closes up behind the blade and is pinching the riving knife. You're then really struggling to push the riving knife through the closed piece, which can be tough. You'll notice some rips are much easier/harder than others because of this.

If all of your rips are hard, then you have a different issue.

·
where's my table saw?
28,567 Posts
Take some measurements first

Measure from the blade over to the right side miter slot at the front and back of the blade using a tri square. Both measurement should be the same

Now measure from the slot over to the fence in a locked position OR slide the fence over to just within the right edge of the right slot and see if the space is parallel to the slot when it's locked.

These two measurements are critical for the saw to perform as it should.

Next if there is a splitter plate, see if that plate is parallel to the blade using a steel straight edge on both sides of the blade. It should slide past the blade and NOT bump the splitter plate. This is also critical for the material to not bind on the plate.

Finally, Pine is notorious for closing up on the splitter if you have one, and binding. Insert a wedge in the kerf when the saw blade is stopped and proceed. Wax the plate to allow the wood to slide more easily.

That should cover it....except if your blade is DULL or gummed up, Change the blade or clean it in Simple Green or mineral spirits in a pie pan....