Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to woodworking, more of hobby right now. Created a wonderful garden fence and got hooked.

My question is regarding dado and table saws. My goal is to build a reclaimed wood counter top for a kitchen island (roughly 3 X 4 feet). I want to join it with half lap joints. I bought a 6" dado set, and yet to get the table saw. My concern is the specs on certain saws. I'm not looking to get a $500+ saw, more around the $200-300 range.
When looking at the specs regarding dado on the box, it says "up to 1/2 inch, up to 5/8 inch dado, etc." What exactly does that mean? My dado blade is 6". Does this mean 1/2 inch depth (which is no good, I think 1 inch would be better for the 2 X 4 wood I'm planning to use). People at the store were rather useless.
Thanks!

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
It is the thickness of the cut they are referring too. I doubt you'll find a cheap table saw that will do more than half inch. Even most 1000 dollar saws only do 13/16 or 7/8.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
You could edge glue and for additional strength use a doweling jig.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Cutting a dado 1" deep is going to be a challenge for the saws in your price range; actually depending on how wide you go it might be a challenge for a whole lot of more expensive saws as well. Plan on doing it in multiple steps.

·
Registered
994 Posts
5/8" is often the size of the motor shaft. Some dado sets come with 5/8" holes but a cylindrical sleeve you can slip over a 1/2" shaft for 5/8" holes.

The OTHER critical thing to know is how long the motor shaft is. The specs should say if it will support a 3/4" wide dado set. If it doesn't say it, then ask tech support to be sure.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys.

I might jump up to a better saw, but are 1/2 inch dado cuts strong enough for a kitchen counter that would get average wear and tear, with edge glue?