Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am fairly new to woodworking and have a few "newbie" type questions. I purchased this table saw a few years ago when I was finishing by basement basically to rip down lumber and sheets, http://www.blackanddecker.com/productguide/product-details.aspx?productid=16798&toolview=4#details. Obviously it's not the best table saw, but my questions is how limited is it?

Now that I am starting to getting into some more stuff, I am looking to get a stacked dado set to make some cabinets and some small furniture. My question is what type of dado set should I get, and how wide can I go with my table saw? I was also thinking abuot getting a tenoning jig for it? I've had no problems with the table saw so far, so i wasn't sure if I shoudl be looking to upgrade it yet. As I said, I'm still new, and want to learn how to do all these things before I shell out a lot of money for a good one. So basically my questions is whether my table saw is capable of doing these things, and what woudl I need to get in order to cut dadoes, and make tenons. THanks for any help

·
Registered
801 Posts
T slot miter guage...... SOL on the tenoning Jig....... My Craftsman is the same way... you'd need to mill some barstock to make it work in the slot.

·
Registered
266 Posts
The Freud super dado set would be your best bet. It will set up to cut dadoes from 1/4 to 29/32", but your saw will accommodate only up to 1/2" dadoes. This set has four interior chippers and a shim set so you can set it to fit your material exactly, not approximately. It's pricey, but if you buy the 8" set, you can use it when you upgrade your saw to something that will accommodate the wider dadoes. The dial-a-width dado?? Stay away.

Nancy

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
T slot miter guage...... SOL on the tenoning Jig....... My Craftsman is the same way... you'd need to mill some barstock to make it work in the slot.