Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to test out the new saw and cut some cove. Until now I had never done it before. Very cool stuff. Then I decided to test myself. It might look simple but I had to come up with some new jigs and do some thinking on this one. The miters are compound angles to give the cove a bigger sweep. I did a 45 degree bevel and set the fence at 45 degrees for the cove. the hardest and longest part was cutting the splines flush with the box. Lots of hand work. I didn't have a plan in my head for this it just evolved on its own.

The box is sanded to 60 grit so far. I'm going to shape the handle a little more and call it done. Just finish the sanding and get the wipe on ready. Can't wait to see the color come out

table saw cove miter box 620.jpg

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys!

Ken, I was gonna finish it today but my wood just got delivered so I'm going to need to organize the shop a little before this box gets any color. Hopefully this weekend

Very cool and creative. How did you get the splines so precise on those curved edges?
--Matt
I cut the splines in after I glued up the box. I just eyeballed some lines on one corner and ran it threw the table saw (carefully) on a little sled.

You're just having way too much fun! You are taking box making to a new level.

Bret
Too much fun indeed! Since the jointer arrived I am turning into a freak. I really don't want to come out of the shop at all.

Bri

·
Registered
176 Posts
this is a work of art - great job - it really "flows"

did you cove with the table saw? I know you would need a special jig for that - but what about the blade - as you pushing wood across on an angle does it need to have a special teeth configuration or is a specific blade better than others?

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·