Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a dining room table (not sure what kind of wood). It is a pretty light wood with a pretty dark stain (a dark cherry color). I had a little patch of marks so I thought I could sand it and do a "stain patch". I found some stain that pretty much matches, but the problem is, it just doesn't seem to "take". I sanded the spot with 120, then 220 then 320 sandpaper to completely remove whatever stain/seal was on it. When i apply the new stain, it looks like its going to be a great match, but when I wipe it off, its pretty much the same color it started with!!?? Why would it do this? Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks,

David

·
Registered
1,284 Posts
stain

I am far from an expert in stain matters, but I can tell you a couple of things. First off, the finer you sand the wood, the less porous it is, the less it will absorb the stain. Second thing is that the type of stain originally used may be leaving some type of residue in the wood grain which is preventing your stain's absorption. Just a guess. Or it could be that a dye was used to achieve the darkness of color, and your stain just can't do the job. These are guesses. I'm willing to bet that there will follow numerous answers from folks more knowledgable on the subject than I am. Good luck.

·
Registered
4,691 Posts
Or it could be that a dye was used to achieve the darkness of color, and your stain just can't do the job.
That would be my guess. It sounds like the wood is maple to me, it can be hard to stain. I personally don't stain much so I am no expert either. I have had troubles with staining hard maple in the past. I only use dye now.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
here is the manufacturers picture of my table

http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/irawoodinc_1981_4347731