Woodworking Talk banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My dad brought these old slabs down from my grandpas farm from off the barn. I believe they are cedar. I really want to make a table out of these. I have two more slabs about the same size. They are about 90 inches long. I am a new woodworker and don't know the best way to make these into a dining room table. I have thought about epoxy but don't k ow if I want this to be my first epoxy project knowing how difficult that can be. I can see it being a cool and fun project. Any advice of how these could be made into a solid table thay can last year's would be appreciated
Sleeve Wood Trunk Twig Road surface

·
Super Moderator
Retired Craftsman
5,482 Posts
welcome to the forum.
please enlighten us as to the tools you have and your workspace, etc.
I strongly suggest you seek out a woodworker in your area to help you dress the wood into useable lumber.

·
Premium Member
A cat made me do it.
1,284 Posts
My dad brought these old slabs down from my grandpas farm from off the barn.
How close to what is in the photo do you want to keep the look?

In general if the project uses valuable or rare material and it's something you haven't done before practice on something smaller or that you don't have as much $ and commitment in. For some projects I spend more time on practice, making jigs and tests etc than I do directly on what will be the finished piece.

I haven't made a table, so won't comment on how.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
welcome to the forum.
please enlighten us as to the tools you have and your workspace, etc.
I strongly suggest you seek out a woodworker in your area to help you dress the wood into useable lumber.