Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Jack of too many trades..
599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been using a 1983 Jet (Asian) Contractor saw for about 9 years now. This week I had a chance to pick up a Rockwell Delta Cabinet Saw for a decent price, so I jumped on it. It's now sitting in my shop, waiting to be hooked up.

The Unisaw is 1973 model, great condition with a single phase, 2hp motor, but wired up for 220. We tested it for wobble and smooth running at the warehouse, so I know that it starts and runs ok.

Trouble is, I don't have 220 in my shop, and there's no room in my panel to upgrade right now, so I want to downgrade the setup for 110v.

I did the same for my old Jet via a small panel on the motor. Seems that it's usually just a matter of switching a couple wires. The diagram on the Unisaw motor shows pretty much the same thing

The issue is that this unisaw has some sort of gigantic breaker panel with a smaller sub-box that contains some sort of voltage transformer. These don't look original, and I'm not sure if the wiring setup can be configured to run at 110 - or if all this stuff is even necessary. This appears to be a very complex magnetic starter assembly. the brand Name is Arrow Hart of Hartford Connecticut. The push-button switch on the front is the same brand. My Jet is about 110x simpler than this.

The wires from the motor and the switch are in terrible shape. Hard and crumbly insulation. I put some shrink tube on for now, but it's beyond help. I will get a replacement cord tomorrow. Th wires in the rest of the main panel, and the smaller box with a transformer in it, are all nice and intact, so maybe I'll be safe with some new cords.

I have two questions:

1) Where are the wires for the motor voltage - inside the motor?

2) Is all this "stuff" necessary if i am going to run this saw at 110v? Should I keep this setup, or buy a modern/safer replacement setup?

One of the wires wasn't even hooked up to anything.