Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I am a brand new woodworker with rough carpentry skills, but no experience in finish work. I have a few questions I hope the group can help me out with concerning this table made by Hudson Furniture:
:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing:

http://hudsonfurnitureinc.com/Occasional_Tables/WALNUT_STICK/collection

I'd like to create a similar one of my own, but I'm not sure where to start.

1) Is there a good website for me to source the walnut? Or should I find a local supplier here in Salt Lake City, UT?

2) I thought I'd find a cylindrical form (maybe a bucket) that would allow me to fit the outside perimeter pieces of walnut in place and then fill in the inside pieces until everything fits snug.

My question is how should I join the inside pieces together so they don't shift and move?

3) How should I affix the outside perimeter pieces of the table so they firmly remain in place without visual nail holes? I've thought about glue, but the glue would not have even contact with the interior sticks of walnut and I'm worried they won't stay.

Many thanks in advance for your suggestions!!!!

·
where's my table saw?
28,556 Posts
go in person

A local source will give you a chance to see the wood in person and choose the grain and color you prefer.
As far as how to build it, the outside "staves" have bevels on both lengths, not much, probably just a few degrees. You can rip them on your table saw or set the jointer fence over a few degrees. On the tablesaw the beveled rip on one side can become the opposite face for the next piece. You save time and material this way.