Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting ready to make a cribbage board.... Do I put the finish on it BEFORE I drill the holes or AFTER?? If after, wont the finish get in the holes and clog them up? I know, STUPID question but I'm new at this.

Thank
Chris

·
woodworking is euphoric
15 Posts
stupid question.....

hey, just chiming in here... no experience making that kind of board, but many other projects that ive had to learn the hard way with as far as finishes go... my first question to you would be; what kind of finish are you using? because depending on the finish used, you may not have a problem. if you were to use a hand rubbed oil typ finish such as linseed oil, there is very little build up there as the oils are soaked into the wood. but if you were to use a polyurethane, you could significantly seal up the holes as thats more of a high build type finish meant to create an actual clear coat that sits on top of the finished product.
long story short, it all depends, but here we come to my second question; whats the harm in taking a scrap piece of the wood you are using and trying out different finishes and procedures? ive learned that when in doubt, test it out! scrap peices are invaluable in my experience, not just for testing finishes, but i have also tested glues, resins, wear tolerances over time such as in a drawer and cabinet, and screw thread strength depending on the type of project...
i have recently tried my hand at something new and completely out of my experience range by attempting to make a three peice takedown bow, and ive learned a lot in the still ongoing process, the biggest was to test things out that im not sure of.
not sure that ive passed any real info on here or not, but hopefully this helps nudge you on and get you going in the right direction. take care, and dont be afraid to post some pics!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·