Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to attempt refinishing a nice table I got at a discount. There are some small scratches, swirl marks, etc and every time I clean it it's like polishing a turn. The stain is black. Not sure if its wood or veneer. Whats the best way to go about this? I've never done anything like this before and need some advise. I plan on taking my time and doing it right. I first thought I would go nuts on it with an orbital sander but then I saw some videos online of people stripping the finishes off.

Can someone tell me how I should go about this? I'll also need some advice on getting a new stain back on. In terms of matching the color, its near black so it should be too hard to get it to look good. If you could recommend specific products that have worked for you on similar projects, that would be nice too.

Thanks!

·
Registered
486 Posts
Sandpaper?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Refinishing dark table

Sandpaper as said by jlhaslip or some sort of gelled or liquid wood stripper.

I then would use a black gelled wood stain. Length of time left on wood before you wipe off should determine color depth. I would definitely do a test maybe on the bottom of the piece to make sure you are going to be able to get the color you want.

Then either apply a lacquer or poly over the top.

Harry

·
Registered
184 Posts