Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is a 38" straight edge long enough to check tables for co-planar on a 8" jointer with 72" bed? I am looking at the Lee Valley 38" Aluminum Straight Edge for $39.50 + $12.50 shipping. Yes I would love to have the 50" one, but not sure if the extra 12" is worth the extra $50. Not sure why it costs $89, but I would prefer not spending the extra bucks. So is 38" enough?

Yes if I hit the lotto, I would get the biggest size Starrett I could. I am poor and don't want to spend more than need be.

Thanks
Paul

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a few 48" levels, but don't think that the bottoms are truly flat enough to use for jointer set up. Although I am no expert on jointer set up and have been struggling for a month. A new level might be flat enough, most at the BORG seemed cheaply made though.

·
Registered
26,896 Posts
I have a few 48" levels, but don't think that the bottoms are truly flat enough to use for jointer set up. Although I am no expert on jointer set up and have been struggling for a month. A new level might be flat enough, most at the BORG seemed cheaply made though.
What is it you are trying to set up? I assumed you wanted to check to see if the rear table is straight with the front table.

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·