Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
DRTYBYRD
484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the the title states, I am still learning a about the ins and outs of turning. This includes the tools used for doing so.
With that being said, I present to the field, a set of Marples and Sons chisels I purchased off of ebay. Used obviously, however I did not notice something in the advertising that I did once received. It is in the collar if you will of the chisels. See attached.
My question is should I be concerned by this, is it repairable, or should I just get my refund and continue my search?

Burin Product Japanese chisel Chisel Tool

Product

Product Tool Chisel Metal Burin

As usual, any advice is useful and welcomed.
Thanks on advanced - Johnny

·
7,222 Posts
The collar as you refer is called a ferrule.

I would not want to use a tool with a broken ferrule. This is an important detail to assist in preventing the tool handle from splitting.

This is the first time I have seen split ferrules. Perhaps someone else can advise how this can happen.

A lot of force may be generated using a tool, especially if you get a catch.

The good news is that the ferrule should be easily replaced. Perhaps easier than returning the tools.

You can either purchase ferrules from woodturning supply companies like Packard Toolworks, or you can purchase copper couplings from a local hardware store or big box store.

Check the diameter of the wood within the ferrule to determine what size you need to purchase.

·
DRTYBYRD
484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The collar as you refer is called a ferrule.

I would not want to use a tool with a broken ferrule. This is an important detail to assist in preventing the tool handle from splitting.

This is the first time I have seen split ferrules. Perhaps someone else can advise how this can happen.

A lot of force may be generated using a tool, especially if you get a catch.