Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a product manager for a major steel wool manufacturer looking for feed back on the main uses for steel wool in woodworking and how we can offer new products to better accomodate your needs.

I welcome your thoughts and suggestions on the following:

What are your Main Uses for Steel Wool?

What Grades do you use?

How would you change the design to make it work better for you?
1) Larger Pads
2) Smaller pads
3) Round pads
4) Cut to size Rolls
5) Blended with nylon pad material
6) 2-Ply pads (1/2 Steel Wool & 1/2 Nylon Pad)
7) Other Suggestions?

What New Steel Wool products would you like to see available?

Your responces will help us determine how we can provide new inovative products for you. Please let me know if you have interest in testing and evaluating new product designs?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,690 Posts
I don't use as much steel wool in finishing as some (I use different finishes) I use plenty just around the house/shop for cleaning. In woodworking I use steel wool almost exclusively when doing refinish/resto work. I do alot of varnish/paint stripping. All grades of wool are needed from very course to very fine.
Can you improve steel wool ? :laughing:

·
Registered
311 Posts
I use 00 steel wool a lot for finishing with lacquer.
I generally rub everything down with it after the sealer coat to
get rid of the nibs and dirt, right before topcoating with lacquer.
My biggest gripe with steel wool is some brands have those little
pads put together to where you can't unwind them.
Makes for a lot of waste so I started using wool by the roll.
I like that much better, cut off what I need and use all of it.
I think mine is 4" wide in a 5lb spool. That's about perfect.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
19 Posts