Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first tool review here. I've purchased a new Steel City Tool Works 40200H 13" planer and will document all of my initial impressions of the machine. I've only owned it for a few days, so I can't speak of its durability under any extended use, but can return to this thread to update it periodically with new notes. I hope this is helpful to anyone looking to make a similar purchase. I researched this purchase for about a month before pulling the trigger. As far as bench top planers go, it came down to this one and the DeWalt DW735. All other things being mostly equal, I chose the Steel City machine because the operating noise level is supposedly lower due to the helical cutterhead, and I will be running this in my basement workshop.

I am relatively new to woodworking and became interested in purchasing a planer after finding a local resource from which I can get a wide variety of milled and dried hardwoods at good prices. I've been messing around with small projects and decorative items, but would really like to eventually get into building some bookshelves and furniture items.

Enough about me. On to the machinery!

Before the planer arrived, I put together a somewhat hefty stand from 2x4s, 2x6s and a top of two layers of 3/4" plywood. It's all on sturdy locking casters to easily move it around my small work space.
IMAG0309.jpg

Front view:
IMAG0325.jpg

Rear view:
IMAG0326.jpg

Rear view with housing removed:
IMAG0327.jpg

Close up of cutterhead:
IMAG0328.jpg