Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I am new to any type of staining or woodworking in general. I am to replace our kitchen cabinets, we want to stain our own unfinished cabinets because it will be the cheapest and we want to make it our own. I am having extreme difficulty.
I have bought exact side panels and doors that will be from the cabinets to test stain colors and technique.
It is oak, and every piece I stain following the same exact procedures, based off what I had seen on youtube or read on the cans, turns out different and I do not understand what I am doing wrong. The door and side panel looked extremely different from each other, and I do not understand which type to use for better uniformity, gel stain, oil based, water based. I am at this point utterly confused and lost, I have spent many dollars just to practice and determine which stain to use and I am lost. The following is the procedure I have used, but the wood has been turning out different, I do not know how people get the same great results with such uniformity

-sand panel/door with 220 grit sandpaper.
-suck dust off panel/door with vacuum.
-Wipe with shop towel.
-Apply oil based wood conditioner with foam brush, wiping excess with shop towel
-Let door/panel sit for 30 minutes
-Apply in the direction of the grain oil based stain on the door/panel
-Let it sit for 5 minutes
-Wipe excess stain, this is where I start to get discouraged, as it does not look right, i am not applying loads of pressure
-Let dry for several hours.

It seems no matter what type of stain I use or technique, it always looks different, color wise and uniformity