Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for advice for staining a bathroom vanity made of pine. I have little experience staining. I have stained in the past however I wish for this one to be right. Please offer your suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
The best thing I can tell you is stain with the grain and make a full pass from one end to the other. Any stop and start marks in the center of a pine board will show up badly. Try to make straight lines when staining with the grain. Pine is all that I work with and have had good luck with the advice I've given you.

·
Registered
714 Posts
Dave, do you ever use a conditioner, like a diluted shellac to help the blotching from happening?

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
Dave, do you ever use a conditioner, like a diluted shellac to help the blotching from happening?
No, never. I've never tried it. My opinion is it is pine and it is goiing to blotch. Personally I've never had a real bad problem with the blotchiness. None of my customers have ever complained.

·
Super Moderator
4,412 Posts
Tate, use a conditioner which in reality is the stain base without the pigments. This will lock up any areas that will want to soak the stain up and become blotchy. I use this on cherry and maple all the time. It works very well, not perfect but well. The only down side to this method is that the stain will be lighter than it normally would be without the conditioning. If you are using MinWax or similar DIY stain, use the natural stain for the conditioner. If you are using professional stains (fast drying) use a stain base. The best way to apply the stain is by spraying, otherwise you will need to wipe it on and then off. Good luck.

·
Registered
66 Posts
It's plywood?

STOP!!!!!!!