Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to the craft; just wondering what stain is best for birch plywood. And also why whitewashing/pickling is not good for birch. Thanks to all.

·
Registered
27,000 Posts
A pickle finish is using a paint where the pigment sticks in the grain of the wood and details like moldings or carvings. Since birch is a closed grain wood there is no grain for the pigment to stick into. All of the flat areas between moldings would be without the character of the pickling. That is why the open grain oak is normally used for that finish.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Steve, I was wondering why birch was not a good candidate for pickling. Do you have any suggestions for a stain on the darker side (preferably none with red hues) for birch? And what brand of pre-conditioner or toner do you suggest? Thanks again.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Thanks Steve, I was wondering why birch was not a good candidate for pickling. Do you have any suggestions for a stain on the darker side (preferably none with red hues) for birch? And what brand of pre-conditioner or toner do you suggest? Thanks again.
if you do a lot of ply wood staining watch this video, with charles neil, i use this all the time when i am staining .

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

Birch can be whitewashed/pickled, as well as Maple. Both are dense woods, but will take the coloring well. I start with a very weak mix done by ratios using cooking measuring spoons/cups. You can start with spoons in teaspoon sizes of an oil base paint in a mix of mineral spirits. Once you get a mix that works well, develop it into a larger portion...ounces per pint or quart.

The sample below was done with no conditioner/sealer, and the photo was with my phone.

maple1.jpg

·
Registered
27,000 Posts