Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like advice on the best way to stain Alder and Cherry. I'm working on a dining room hutch that I've made out of Alder but with purchased, unfinished Cherry doors and drawer fronts. I'm afraid of blotching with some stains. I've heard I should dye the wood first, then seal it, then use a pigment stain. I'd like to hear from someone with experience with these woods. Also would like to know best stain products to use. Thanks.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Welcome JonLewis!

Someone is going to chime in here with a ton more experience in this area than I.

I've grown fond of the Bartley gel stains and varnish FWIW. I find them easy to control and easy to correct if I goof. But that's not what prompted me to jump in here.

I have a nephew named Jon Lewis. His father is a rough carpenter by trade and both enjoy woodworking. Had to do a double-take to make sure you weren't him. Don't live in Michigan, do ya? :laughing:

·
Registered
17 Posts
I don't have a lot of experience with stains / finishes but the last few projects I've done, I've learned by trial and error that you should wipe down your work first with a damp cloth to open up the pores of the wood ... it will show any imperfections in the wood (IE glue spots) and helps the stain take better to the wood. As far as stain's go I've been playing around with gel stain's lately and I really like the way they cover on ash and birch.

don't know if it's much help but it's my 2 cents:huh:

·
Registered
44 Posts
Welcome JonLewis,
I have been working with Alder quite extensively as of late and found that the brand Penchrome has deeper penetrating into Alder and doesn't produce a blochy color. I finish up with a Zinsser Quick 15 Gloss that I spray through my HVLP sprayer. 3 quick coats and a sanding in between of 400, 800, 1000 grit papers (9 to 15 coats total) for a bullet proof finish.

Scott A. Mordecki/ Nailgunner7