Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here are two bowls I made out of spalted beech. The finish is paste wax. They are 8".

I started a knob and a tote but soon realized I wasn't going to like the light colored wood on planes.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Bowls look nice! Send the knobs to me! Just kidding, I'd finish 'em up and use for a jig or sled sometime. It is interesting that the spalting only affected half the wood.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Bowls look nice! Send the knobs to me! Just kidding, I'd finish 'em up and use for a jig or sled sometime. It is interesting that the spalting only affected half the wood.
Yes, Maybe it has something to do with heartwood/sapwood? As I understand it, spalting is caused by a fungus. (The knob was a glue up)

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank You for the very kind words Gus. The real fact of the matter is that I am a beginner at wood turning. Previous to these bowls, I made a faceplate and little stub shaft for my lathe, the bowls were my first real projects. I hope it wasn't beginners luck!

·
7,222 Posts
Nice looking bowls. :thumbsup:

I also started a tote and then ended up not liking the piece. I was using walnut but after cutting the shape same as yours, I felt the piece was too light and put this aside and started with a denser piece of walnut.

Nice shape on the knob. :thumbsup:

I much prefer making a knob to a tote. So much easier. :icon_smile:

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Nice looking bowls. :thumbsup:

I also started a tote and then ended up not liking the piece. I was using walnut but after cutting the shape same as yours, I felt the piece was too light and put this aside and started with a denser piece of walnut.

Nice shape on the knob. :thumbsup:

I much prefer making a knob to a tote. So much easier. :icon_smile:
Thanks Dave