Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm somewhat new to making live edge tables, and it's my first time posting here. I have a 4" thick, 32" round of old growth redwood that has a split in it. The wood has moved...well I actually don't know what to call it, maybe moved vertically? Shear? Basically if it's set on a tabletop, the wood on one side of the split has pulled up. Hopefully you can see what I mean from the picture. This is an old piece, and so it's dry.

It seems like I should stabilize this point? I want to leave this piece as natural as I can, so I'd rather not to use epoxy to fill gap. I know with splits where the wood is pulling apart people use butterfly inlays to stabilize the piece. I was wondering if anyone has ever done this in my situation? I mocked up one of the pictures to show what I'm thinking. What solutions do people use for this type of movement?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
648 Posts
I’ve never seen such a fix attempted, but if you should try it, rotate the butterfly 90 degrees. As shown there is no mechanical bond. Glue would serve as the only bonding agent.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
648 Posts
I’ve never seen such a fix attempted, but if you should try it, rotate the butterfly 90 degrees. As shown there is no mechanical bond. Glue would serve as the only bonding agent.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
not sure that there is any such thing as "what is normally done in this situation"
live edge stuff tends to love its cracks and warps and it's not prone to behaving.

if the intent is to stay rustic, the approach of encapsulating the whole thing in epoxy with a "river" down the crack is not a solution.

my rustic approach: finish the crack. crack it in two. then very carefully chisel/re-shape the crack so it's almost "closed" - drill and install large diameter dowels - add legs - flatten top.

·
Registered
74 Posts