Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Beginner Wood Work Woman
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm making an exterior sign approximately 4x6, and am need of some helpful advice on the following. (I have wisconsin weather)

1. MDO board?
2. What primer or paint is best? I would like to paint it black.
3. What adhesive should I attach my wooden letters with?
4. What should I put over the to of it to seal it before I nail it up?

·
Registered
54 Posts
A search for exterior mdo and painting exterior mdo gave a lot of information. I have no experience painting it but would use the best gloss paint you can get. You can glue it with something like tight bond III or use an epoxy. Can you glue and screw the letters from the back side? I am thinking wooden letter. If you are using a different material letter this may not work.

Make sure the edges are painted well or wrapped in a banding wood.

·
Banned
6,838 Posts
I'm making an exterior sign approximately 4x6, and am need of some helpful advice on the following. (I have wisconsin weather)

1. MDO board?
2. What primer or paint is best? I would like to paint it black.
3. What adhesive should I attach my wooden letters with?
4. What should I put over the to of it to seal it before I nail it up?
Welcome, I know your looking for answers for a problem but here's the deal. This is a woodworking forum and it is usually nice if people start with an intro. After reading you question I'm not sure you will be around after you get your answer and since I use to make signs. Here's my advice.

Unless its new MDO is always an exterior plywood with a medium density overlay finish. Its either good one side or both and can be bought primed already. It is used for high way signs during construction as well as many shop signs.

Any exterior primer is good. Its mostly because that papered finish can really soak up paint. Get the edges really good but i have pulled signs out of water after days of getting soaked and no damage was apparent.