Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in a small house with an equally small full basement. I found wood flooring while remodeling and finished it so I do not have a subfloor. I need to be pretty meticulous about dust if I'm going to do woodworking in my 720 sq/ft home. I'm just getting started with woodworking so the only tools in the basement are typical hand tools and router table with dust collection I'm currently making. After the router table I'll make a miter saw table with dust collection.

I work in heating and air and have experience with piping as well as making sheet metal. I have my pick of used blower assemblies out of furnaces and can replace motors with whatever spec needed. I plan on using one to build an air filtration rack. Between wood and metal work I can probably hang it from the open joist ceiling in my basement. I'm thinking I'll stack a .5 micron over top of a .1 micron filter.

I live in the suburbs so I'd have to be careful venting any system outdoors, BUT I have a full covered front porch with an egress door access. I could vent outside right by the egress door with some kind of collection canister I could clean out. I could build a muffler if noise is a problem. I can bring in fresh air, heck if I wanted to go all out I could buy (at cost)a fresh air intake system we use for my work.