Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Pain in the A$$
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I currently have a 3/4" oval skew that I'm getting better with, but I still seem to snag the heel. It was recommended to me by several turners that I might benefit from a wider skew as the heel is farther away from the typical contact point. With that, I was thinking a 1 1/4" or a 1 3/8" skew. I am stuck between a flat sided skew or an oval one. Also, I have several Sorby tools, but any "quality" HSS made from good steel will work for me. So, I'm looking for some input for you'all...

1. Do you prefer oval or flat sided skews? Why?

2. What are some good online sources of reasonably priced skews?

Mark

·
7,222 Posts
In theory a rounded edge skew is easier for rolling beads - assuming you can use a skew to roll beads that is. I am not good at beads with my 3/4in screw. I have better luck with my small spindle gouge or my beading/parting tool.

Not all companies make 1 1/4in or 1 3/8in skews.

Packard Toolworks sells a 1 1/4in skew with their name on, not sure who actually makes it.
http://www.packardwoodworks.com/Mer...re_Code=packard&Category_Code=tools-pkrd-resc

If you can afford a Doug Thompson tool, he has some of the best steel around.

http://thompsonlathetools.com/pricelist.asp

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
If your getting catches it's because your are coming off the bevel. Not catching the heel. I thought that myself for a long time but after 20 years or more of using the skew, and I mean all kinds of skews, I know it's not catching the heel.
there's been a lot of talk about wider skews not getting catches because the toe or heel is further form the wood. It's not true, it's letting the cut get above the center line of the skew and then it twists the skew and pulls the long point into the wood.