Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm looking for some advice on a "starter kit" so to speak for spraying lacquer.

Some background - I worked in a finishing shop for a summer, spraying lacquer finishes on high-end woodwork. I learned a lot, but I am still an amateur at this. Fast forward to my hobbyist years, and I am enjoying building small projects - jewelry boxes, watch charging stands, night lights, letter openers, etc. I love the lacquer finish, but I am having trouble getting good results with the rattle cans.

I have just purchased a small HVLP "touch up" spray gun from amazon (here), and I am going to try my hand at some spraying. My question is this - can anyone recommend (1) a good lacquer product for these types of woodworking projects (e.g., jewelry boxes, etc.), and (2) provide any very rough starter instructions for spraying (e.g., PSI, relative amount to thin, etc.). I am definitely capable of tinkering with the air pressure and fluid flows to find the right coverage, etc., but it would be helpful to have a few starting points to help get me on the right track.

Also I'm open to any other suggestions, like if the above spray gun isn't what I should be using (e.g., nozzle size, etc.). Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I have been using Minwax Helsman Spar urethane in a rattle can for small jobs and I'm happy with the results. It sprays on evenly, dries quickly and is available in gloss, semi-gloss and satin. I have used HVLP sprayers, and still do for larger projects, but I like the convenience of just grabbing a can for the little stuff.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3