Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Sawdust is my addiction
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recieved the Shopnotes Vol.7 Issue 37. My questions are, if anyone on here has built this sander? how long did it take to build? is it cost effective (ie time to build, buy materials vs buy a good used one)?? And how durable is the finished product?? Ok thats enough questions for a newbie!! lol
If these questions have already been posted please advise me, I couldn't find any but like I said I'm a newbie so maybe I didn't look in the right place.
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
5,173 Posts
I'm looking for a used one now

There is not much too building one I would think. Mainly two spools, a motor and a strong spring for tension on the belt. . To me, buying used is better than building one. For one thing, I dont weld. I am a professional woodworker so it would not be cost effective for me to build one - for a hobbyist it might be.
Accuracy is not an issue with an edge sander but wooden frames get bulky and heavy.If you dont have any particular furniture projects in mind to build then go ahead and make the sander your project.

·
Really underground garage
2,552 Posts
Some general encouragement;

I'm around alot of equip...new/used,whatever.One pc that you just don't see alot of is used edge sanders.The reason is,folks hang on to them.There seems to be two groups,those who swear by them and just don't get rid of them and then the other group that they don't fit into their scope of work.

So this is one pc that buying new or building one makes sense.There was a thread on here about a homebuilt one,maybe a search will find it.Also try You-tube.And if possible go and look at some if convenient......it may clear up some questions.Good luck with your build,BW

·
Premium Member
5,173 Posts
I used to own one and it got used almost everyday. They are very handy.

·
Sawdust is my addiction
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·