Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 5hp rigid shop vac that I wouldn't mind using for a dust collection system. Is it doable? What upgrades/modifications would you suggest for this to be a good system. Will I be replacing the filter all of the time?

·
Registered
335 Posts
It will not work as well as a duct collection system. Yes you will need to either be replacing filters often or you could get a washable filter and wash it out. Perhaps have two of the washable ones so you can continue working while one is drying.

I used a shop vac for a while then made the jump to a JDS dust collector.

·
John
3,028 Posts
I have a 5hp rigid shop vac that I wouldn't mind using for a dust collection system. Is it doable? What upgrades/modifications would you suggest for this to be a good system. Will I be replacing the filter all of the time?
I've been using a shop vac for about 3 years now. About the only option when you have neither the physical space nor the electrical power to run a dedicated dust collection system. Not as efficient as a dedicated system does work pretty well. George is correct though, unless you add a Dust Deputy, Thein baffle or some other means of separating out the dust and chips, you can go through a phenomenal amount of vacuum cleaner bags. I put on a dust deputy
Oneida Molded DIY Dust Deputy Cyclone - Amazon.com
and it dropped my vacuum cleaner bag use from 1 or 2 a month to zero in 15 months.

·
Registered
76 Posts
I use a shop vac with the dust deputy. It works pretty well. I don't have the space to set up permanent DC, so I just connect whatever I'm using to the shop vac and DD.

·
where's my table saw?
27,863 Posts
generally speaking