Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have no experience (or future) in woodworking, but am just a guy who decided he'd try to build some shelves around the house. I am beyond the halfway point on a shelving project and just “learned” that I was supposed to use glue. I did not use any glue. Instead I used screws (to connect horizontal studs to wall, and shelving to horizontal studs) and 16 gauge nails (to connect shelves to side boards). As I won’t be undoing what I’ve done (I just can’t... not enough hours in the day or dollars in my pocket to restart), I’d at least like to know what to expect.

Will these shelves just begin to fall part over time? Will they last months? Years? Decades? None of the above? I used a pretty decide grade 3/4-inch plywood (blondewood) from Lowe’s for the shelving, and pine boards for the sides. Am I doomed? I sure feel like it, from what I’ve read online. It seems clear that it would’ve been preferable to use glue along with the nails, but I can’t get a sense of how crucial that step was (preference or absolute necessity?). Everything feels sturdy enough, but I'm wondering about the longevity without glue.

The load: this is for a game / activity room, so we’re talking game consoles, DVDs, skates, etc. Maybe books (which I know can get heavy). I have two more units to build on the right side of the tv in order to span the wall. So, depending on your advice, at least the undone shelving units stand a chance of being done correctly.

Looking forward to your thoughts and opinions. Thanks for your time and help.

Attachments

·
Registered
705 Posts
First of all, that's a nice looking set of shelves for someone with no experience and no future.
Second of all, I think you'll be fine without glue, to be honest. The screws and nails will probably hold it well enough. And if one works itself loose, just pound it back in.