Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning a bed/dresser combination w/ a bunch of birch plywood drawer boxes w/ 1" side lips and carved out front-scoops. I really want to use shellac, a finish I've never worked with before (I can hear the sighs from here!). I want shellac because its non-toxic, I can work with it inside w/ proper ventilation, and it looks great on birch.

From everything I read about shellac, it seems like finishing before assembly is a good option because shellac dries very fast and will be difficult to apply evenly inside the corners. But what about the dovetail areas? Will they look OK after I glue them up? Will I be able to "blend" them by padding on some alcohol, or is there something I'm missing here? I've never assembled a drawer box before. I am buying them pre-made.

Looking for any and all opinions and suggestions. Thank you

·
Registered
4,232 Posts
Shellac can be applied prior to assembly and after assembly and you can plan on applying it a minimum of twice to all sides. Shellac is an excellent sealer and compatible for almost all other finishes. You can choose it for the final finish or come back with a top coat of something else. Birch plywood is an excellent choice for drawers. But I don't know if your drawers will be birch or not because you said your using pre-made drawers. I've never used pre-made drawer boxes, but it should really speed your project time.

·
Registered
26,318 Posts