Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting into turning. I have to sharpen my tools by hand , what
Is a good stone to use and any one have any video of by hand?

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
It's not practical to shape and sharpen turning tools with bench stones, except to hone them between grindings. Especially with the HSS tools we use today. Do you have a disc sander or belt sander?

·
where's my table saw?
28,579 Posts
build a jig like this

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Yeah youll have to be a little more clear. By hand or free hand? If you have a grinder or a sander, you can build a simple jig to help you out. I dont even know where to begin with actually doing it by hand on a bench. That would take some serious skill!

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Here's my video on sharpening tips. Hopefully it will help. If you must sharpen totally by hand using a stone just about any stone will work. Well probably not the ultrafine white stones but any good oilstone.
If you have a disc sander or belt sander I can walk you through sharpening on that.
Most turners use a grinder, preferably with a white wheel instead of the old gray ones, however I did use the gray wheels for a while. If you do have a grinder i might have a wheel you can have.

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
If you do have a grinder, theres something to be said about taking care of your wheels too. I built my current sharpening system a year or so ago. I used a WC slow speed grinder(I believe they replaced this model with a Rikon model now) and the Oneway Wolverine system. After a year of regular sharpening I noticed my wheels were starting to get a little dished shaped and it was affecting my grinds. I just recently got the wheel dressing jig from Oneway and man what a difference flat wheels make!