Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Splinters
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Think we should have a new section for stupid questions...like the one I have...(sheesh). OK, I am a beginner turner. Kind of self taught. I see videos and such and read...a little. I've successfully turned pens, handles, vases (small ones) and now a small jewelry dish. So far, I seem to be doing ok. The one problem I have is in sharpening the chisels... Please keep in mind I live on a fixed income and making large purchases is very difficult. So, here's what I have done. I purchased the Grizzly 10 inch wet grinder. I also purchased a couple of Tormek jigs. The one for sharpening gouges and skews. It seems, to me anyhow, that it's a learning curve. I have arthritis in my hands, not debilitating, but enough to make some tasks a bit more difficult. Ok, I understand the learning curve, but (here it comes) how do I know the tools are sharp, especially the gouges, without using them to see if they are or not...? See,may face is red for asking this.....

·
Registered
95 Posts
Actually, this is a good question.

For any turning gouge, there are several time-tested ways to assess sharpness:

If you can "see" the edge of the gouge, it isn't sharp. When sharp, the very edge of the sharpened steel will seem to disappear in the light. Apparently, to the human eye, the reflection from an edge smaller (sharper) than a fraction of a mm is not detectable.

You should have a single, smoothly flowing bevel and, when your finger is brushed perpendicularly (unless you want a nasty cut) along the edge, it should "feel" sharp. I know this sounds stupid, but it actually is fairly accurate.

Also, and I hate to be the bearer of bad news, wet grinders tend not to be the best at shaping turning tools. For incremental sharpening (touching up the edge) they are great. It takes WAY too long to reshape an edge using them (in my opinion anyway). I have a Tormek jig setup for my dry grinder for that purpose.