Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got a new cabinet saw & am looking to buy a stacked dado set. I have no experience with these, though I am familiar with the basic concepts involved. I'd love to hear comments/recommendations from experienced users about selecting a dado set, and especially specific model recommendations. What do you use?

Thanks!

Dan

·
Registered
419 Posts
Just a few basics on dado blades in general

because I am not personally locked into any specific brand. Rule #1, no wobble blades. Stay clear of the boomarang blades if your wallet will allow. I prefer any set that utilizes full plate chippers with 5 CARBIDE teeth. You will normally get the two outside blades, four 1/8" chippers, one 3/32" chipper and one 1/16" chipper as well as a collection of brass shims. You can expect to pay up to $100.00 for a good, no name carbide set. Of course if you have excess loot laying about, why not go with the Freud with the dial a setting shim system. I drool on the page each time I see this but meanwhile, my $87.00 Avenger set keeps making me money.

Ed

·
Registered
3 Posts
The Freud SD208 gets consistant high marks in the $100 range. I am fortunate that LOML got me the Freud dial a width for Christmas,does a fantastic job. I also have a HF dado set I bought on sale for$19.00 to cut some half lap joints in pressure treated wood,I was pleasantly surprised with the HF set, did a decent job. Since you have a cabinet saw I would go with 8" set. You may not need the depth capability that often but its there when you need it.

·
Registered
23 Posts
hi every one, i would like to know because im not so smart:icon_sad: if you measure a blade tooth at one end and the other end and it measure`s 10" THEN DOES THAT MEAN IT`S A 10" SAW?????
THANKS, JEMMY.

·
Registered
49 Posts