Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 223 Posts

·
Banned
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I begin my search for my first table saw (I've been using a Shopsmith for almost 30 years) I see all the ads for the Sawstop and its safety. I've watched hot dogs being eased into the spinning blade to show the blade stopping, and even the video of the creator moving his finger into the blade all without a scratch. But what happens on this saw if my hand gets yanked into the blade? I find it hard to believe that if I drop a hot dog on the spinning blade it it wouldn't get nicked. Or if my hand gets pulled in when my push pad fails. Does anybody have an idea what might happen in an accident situation versus a very slow purposeful feed into the blade? I'm not trying to disparage the SS, just trying to truly understand its true safety in all situations. Thanks for your thoughts.

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
As I begin my search for my first table saw (I've been using a Shopsmith for almost 30 years) I see all the ads for the Sawstop and its safety. I've watched hot dogs being eased into the spinning blade to show the blade stopping, and even the video of the creator moving his finger into the blade all without a scratch. But what happens on this saw if my hand gets yanked into the blade? I find it hard to believe that if I drop a hot dog on the spinning blade it it wouldn't get nicked. Or if my hand gets pulled in when my push pad fails. Does anybody have an idea what might happen in an accident situation versus a very slow purposeful feed into the blade? I'm not trying to disparage the SS, just trying to truly understand its true safety in all situations. Thanks for your thoughts.
I wouldn't want to try it.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
There are more testimonials of people avoiding injury on sawstops than you could ever read all over the web.