Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have an unfinished solid teak table that I've been working on. I've run into a problem though in an attempt to remove a small water stain, I ended up sanding more in a specific area (the water stain is long gone). What I've found now is the grain in that area has little mini tears or seams within the grain, while the other areas of the table don't (which I sanded as well but not as much as the problem area).

I've been sanding using 150 grit followed by 220 grit sandpaper with a sanding block. The problem area is perfectly smooth when I run my hand along it, but if I lightly drag my finger nail across the problem area (perpendicular to the grain) I can feel the little tears or grain much more clearly than other areas. Also I can tell the wood grain is overall more pronounced when looking at it in the light.

I am fairly new to all this so I may be describing an issue that is common or has another name. What can I do fix it and even out the grain effect across the whole table?

Any help is very much appreciated, thanks.

·
Registered
27,306 Posts
It sounds like something else is going on rather than the wood having a water spot. It sounds like there is some defect in the wood there and getting it wet just revealed it. Getting wood wet will raise the grain. This is why when doing fine work a person will wet the wood between sandings to bring out anything that might be wrong. If it were mine I would wipe the entire top down with a damp cloth and when dry sand it again. There might be other spots that won't be revealed until you start putting a finish on and you don't want to find it out then.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the quick reply!