Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have done turnings in the past, but I am new to turning bowls. I am working on my first segmented bowl and was wondering how fine a grit do the rest of you bowl turners use on your projects. I used 220 on this one but I still see some lines. I'd also like to hear about what your favorite finishes are.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Ken, I haven't done that much turning, but I try to sand everything I do to at least 400, then go over the whole thing with a white Scotchbrite pad for a final burnishing. Some of the turning gurus at SawmillCreek and Family Woodworking sand their stuff to 12000 with micromesh--I've never gone quite that far.

Nancy

·
Registered
49 Posts
Basically you keep going up the grits and sand until YOU are happy with the finish. I Have sanded to 1500 on some pieces. Having said that it is only a light sand for a few seconds at that grit.

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Crazybear pretty much nailed it. You sand until you like it. I usually stop at 400 but will occasionally go far beyond that. I did a little experiment last year with sanding grits. It was flat wood and not turned so take that into consideration.
What I did was to take 4 different kinds of wood, some porous and some smooth. Some had curly grain and some plain. I sanded them to 1500 grit. I started at 220 and left 2" strips that I progressively sanded to finer grits. Then I applied an oil finish to 4 and lacquer to 4. I went through all the same steps I would when finishing a fine turning including the beal buffing system as the last step.
I took these to the club and passed them around. No one was able to tell the difference between 600 on up. I thought there would be a lot of difference especially with the oil finish. I would like to do the same test with turned highly figured wood but I'll probably never get around to it.