Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am fairly new to wood turning and wondered if anyone has used a rust inhibitor on their lathe or if this is not done?

It seems like this would be great at preventing issues that may happen due to wet wood or other wet items such as finish hitting the lathe.

If you do what are the best products to get for this?

Thanks,
Michael

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
I jst use a paste wax on the bed, same as I do all cast iron tools.:thumbsup:

·
7,222 Posts
Turning wet wood will create a lot of free water.

Do not leave wet wood shavings on the lathe bed, even for a short time. You will return to find superficial rust. Easy to remove but will be a reminder that wet wood needs to be cleaned up ASAP.

The cheapest and simplest method to prevent rust is to use WD-40 before and after turning the wet wood. Other methods work, such as Johnsons Paste Wax, Boeshield T9, but most people have WD-40 on hand.

If you are using dry wood, then use WD-40 ever now and again, more for lubrication than rust prevention.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Not an inhibitor but I use a rust converter when I clean any of my tools (TS tops, lathe, jointer, etc). It converts rust from iron oxide to iron phosphate. When dry I go over with steel wool and then use wax, WD40, or other products.
It is available at any automotive store as Osphos, RustMort, or other names; it is also available at HD in a spray just called Rust Converter. It will turn the rust black as it converts it so any pits or crevices are rust free.

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
I use Boeshield T-90. Doesn't need to be applied often (or thick), just a quick spritz and rub down.

Prior to getting this I used MinWax paste wax -- it worked well, but took a little more rubbing to get it spread evenly across the length of the ways.