Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, newbie here with a small issue. First off I love reading these forums and usually that's all I do until I had a small problem over the weekend.

I have a Milwaukee 1 3/4 hp fixed router in my router table and am using it to make trim pieces for a project on 3/4 and 1/2 red oak stock pieces. When I work with the grain it is smooth operating and comes out great however when I work the adjacent side of the piece (cross grain), it feels as though I'm fighting the piece and it comes out very dark, as if it's burning the wood and there is a lot of tearout that I have to sand. I'm thinking I'm definitely doing something wrong and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any tips.

Keon

·
Registered
226 Posts
When you have to work against the grain take lighter passes. Are the pieces 3/4 or 1/2 wide or thick. If possible route the profile in the stock when it is as wide as possible then rip the trim strips off on a table saw.

·
John
3,028 Posts
Hi all, newbie here with a small issue. First off I love reading these forums and usually that's all I do until I had a small problem over the weekend.

I have a Milwaukee 1 3/4 hp fixed router in my router table and am using it to make trim pieces for a project on 3/4 and 1/2 red oak stock pieces. When I work with the grain it is smooth operating and comes out great however when I work the adjacent side of the piece (cross grain), it feels as though I'm fighting the piece and it comes out very dark, as if it's burning the wood and there is a lot of tearout that I have to sand. I'm thinking I'm definitely doing something wrong and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any tips.

Keon