Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need use a router (roundover bit) to round the edges of several 2" x 6" boards. I have a Bosch router and router table. There is not enough room for a 2" x 6" between the fence and the router bit. Do I need to remove the fence that comes with the table and clamp on a homebuilt fence? I would appreciate any ideas on how to do this. I thought a router table would be better than trying to freehand, but I need to figure out a good dyi fence or some other approach. Thanks for any help! I am a novice.

·
Registered
539 Posts
I need use a router (roundover bit) to round the edges of several 2" x 6" boards. I have a Bosch router and router table. There is not enough room for a 2" x 6" between the fence and the router bit. Do I need to remove the fence that comes with the table and clamp on a homebuilt fence? I would appreciate any ideas on how to do this. I thought a router table would be better than trying to freehand, but I need to figure out a good dyi fence or some other approach. Thanks for any help! I am a novice.
If I am understanding you right, the fence is on one side of the board and the router bit on the other side? If so, that is a dangerous setup and I would not suggest it. The router bit should be set into your fence. If it has a ball bearing pilot, use a straight edge across the fence and make certain the bearing just touches the straight edge. Of you are rounding over a 2x6, you could easily do so with the router alone, no table. Using a fence will only track the bearing straighter in case there are nots or holes where the bearing would ride.

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Round over router bits don't need a fence at all. Every one I've ever seen has the bearing on it to keep the wood properly oriented on the bit.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·