Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With the help of many of you guys on here, I decided to purchase a Milwaukee 5625 3.5hp router for the shop I am building that will be permanently inserted into a table. I'm still learning, but from what I understand I will likely want a lift for table insertion. I'm looking for any recommendations people may have for a lift and router table.

While money and value is always a consideration, I don't mind spending more if I am getting something for it so don't hesitate to throw out the high dollar items if you feel they are superior to the more economical.

This router and table will be used for a very wide variety of wood working projects so the more versatile the better. I do not intend to take the router out and use it by hand often, if ever. I will likely buy another less powerful router for handheld routing and this one will permanently live in the table.

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

·
where's my table saw?
27,857 Posts
I like cast iron

I have the Bench Dog Pro table extension on my table saw, right side.
It can also be mounted on a stand if desired. Cast iron has the advantages of durability and will accept the various magnetic hold downs and featherboards. There are other brands, Grizzly and Peachtree, but for a free standing table and fence, I'd go with this one:
(3 boxes) Bench Dog 40-302 ProMax Trio Complete Router Table - Amazon.com

A slightly larger table with a cabinet base:
Bench Dog 40-300 ProMax RT Complete - Amazon.com

Bench Dog makes their own lifts, but I have several Jessem Mart R Lift II and think they are great. The height now can be locked and not vibrate up or down which the earlier models did. This lift has cams that will allow many sizes of router motor to fit:
http://jessem.com/MAST-R-LIFT.html

The also have a side crank model which frees up the table top.
http://jessem.com/MAST-R-LIFT_EXCEL_II.html

·
Registered
5,445 Posts