Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've gotten lost in numerous searches on this forum and found Rockler but it seems they run between $300 and $600, depending upon what I want. I'm not sure how much I should look to spend as a beginner and more importantly, I wonder if my router works in a table at all. My hope is that it does because I was told a fixed base router was necessary if I wanted to use it in a table.

I figured out that the times I am using my router, a table would make life much easier. Right now I'm clamping my pieces to a board and then moving the clamps from one side to another when I run out of room.

Discussions on dust collection are welcome too. It's all kind of overwhelming.

·
Registered
611 Posts
I'm a beginner as well. I have the PC 690 mounted in a Bench Dog 40-001 ProTop Contractor Benchtop router table. I'm very happy with the arrangement. I'm a beginner too. The table is $250 on Amazon. That's a bit pricey for a benchtop but I love it. Extremely well built and very easy to use. Check out the reviews on Amazon.

But here's the thing. You sort of have to know how to use tables to get the most out of them, but they don't come with instructions. If you think on it, instructions are a tall order for a router table because they are so versital.

In lieu of instructions I bought this book: Bill Hylton's Ultimate Guide to the Router Table (Popular Woodworking): Bill Hylton: 9781558707962: Amazon.com: Books

After reading it you can understand why table manuals are pretty much limited to assembly instructions. There's just too much to cover. But I have to say, the book is poorly written. Everything you need to know is there, it's just that the writing style is odd to me. Lots of double negatives, and the phrases of sentences are in reverse order. And sentence order is odd. It isn't grammatically incorrect. Just hard to read. But well worth the struggle.

·
Registered
3,339 Posts