Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
The New Guy
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey ....yeah I'm a newbie, but I need a little help and I'm sure this question has been asked a million times before so please forgive me. Santa brought me a new router and I've decided to build my own router table. My current router came with a bench top router table, but it's somewhat inconvenient. I built a table for my compound miter saw and would like to give this a try. I've read a couple of threads on here about router tables and I've checked out a couple of links on table plans. My first question is: Do I need a mounting plate or just mount the router to the table? The manual that came with my router doesn't really say whether or not it's necessary. Most of the plans I've seen show a mounting plate, but don't go into great detail....I guess they figure it's a given. My second question is: What's the best table top material? I've looked at MDF, which is really flat, smooth, and heavy. I've also seen a set of plans from another site that used a couple of layers of birch plywood with a support structure on the underside to keep things nice and flat. Sorry for the long read, but I'm a bit confused. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
979 Posts

·
The New Guy
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Heavy is good. It dampens vibration and keeps your tool set-up stable. ie: sliding away from you when you're pushing stock through etc.

You can start by looking for base plates similar to these:
http://www.rockler.com/CategoryView.cfm?Cat_ID=274&gclid=CILCxff6yZACFQGzGgodBhvtWQ&cookietest=1

Get or make some push sticks and featherboards too...:thumbsup: