Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I’m a newbie when it comes to joints. I’ve set up my router table and I’m having a good time learning about its capabilities (and limitations).

A few projects I’m looking to do require mortise and tenon joints. My plan was to use my router table and fense to “plunge” cut the mortises with a straight up cut bit. Then use my coping sled and a slot cutter to cut the tenons. This is going to leave me with rounded mortises and squared off tenons.

So my options as I see it are:

1) Use a chisel to square up the mortise (ick)
2) Use a rasp, sandpaper, something to round off the tenon (not as bad)
3) Just make the mortise slightly longer so the square tenon will fit (easiest option)

Now I realize that that option #3 would be the worse case for strength, but I’m wondering if that’s an acceptable way to do things. I guess it would also depend on how much stress the joint is going to get.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually they can be done either way. It's up to the preference of the craftsman. I think I'd rather pare with a chisel, than rasp and sand. As for the depth, the tenon should have a nice slip fit, you can't bottom out the tenon, and air has to escape.
thanks Cabinet man,,, is there a particular type or brand of chisel you would recommend for a job like this? :thumbsup:

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
I have many sets of chisels, and recommend you learn to sharpen edged tools. A very sharp honed chisel cuts effortlessly. A good selection would include narrow to wide (for example 1/4" to 3/4" or more). Some are metal capped, and others are plain. Paring can be just all hand work or tapping with a mallet. For deep mortises, a mortising chisel may be more comfortable.

Sets from Buck Brothers, or Stanley will get you going and won't break the bank.

·
Registered
304 Posts
2) Use a rasp, sandpaper, something to round off the tenon