Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting here, but I have been reading on this site for some time now.
I just had to tell someone about my newest tool that would appreciate it. I have been wanting to upgrade my table saw for some time now, icaught a major break earlier this week and found an old Rockwell 12/14 (model 34-395) Table saw. It is an awesome machine and I got it for a song. I am adding a picture.
It needs some work, so I am stripping it down and will replace the bearings on the arbor. I am also replacing the 3phase motor with a smaller single phase (2-3Hp).
Here is my question/dilema:
Probably 98% of the time I only need a 10 inch blade, however to use a 10 inch blade on the 1 inch arbor, I would have to have the blade bored out. Also, a dado set for a 1" arbor is clearly out of my price range (especially considering that 12" blades are more $ too).
I am planning to pull the arbor in order to replace the bearings, is there any reason why i couldn't take it to a local machine shop and have them reduce it to a 5/8" arbor and rethread it?
It might be an initial investment, but I think it would save me a lot over time.

Attachments

·
In History is the Future
6,423 Posts
First off, that's saws a beast! Congrats on the find.

While I hear what your saying... these are my initial thoughts.

There's no real down side to having a 12" blade on your saw as long as you go with the correct motor hp and rpm & pulley ratio. The blades will be a lil more expensive but not terribly. As for the dado, any 6-8" will work given it has a 1" arbor. You can still find dado sets with 1" arbors that include a sleeve for use on 5/8" arbors. They were made to be used on either because of the 12" radial arm saws out there...

Just my thoughts...

~tom

·
Registered
1,932 Posts