Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I know the new Rigid saw has gotten some pretty decent reviews... I am looking to buy a table saw (I currently do not own one) and was curious as to which to purchase.

I can get the 3612 off of craigslist locally for $300, he may take less... Otherwise I am looking at $550 for the new saw. I can get the Craftsman 21833 model for this price too.. So which ever one is recommended I will go with.

Any helpful info would be appreciative. Saws are hard to come by here because shipping is so expensive. So we are pretty much limited by the stores here and what they carry.

I am a weekend hobbyist. I want to make built-ins, book cases, dressers eventually... Those type of things.

Just looking for a decent induction motor table saw that will perform good quality cuts at an affordable price.

I could bump my budget up to $1000, but I would have to end up selling a rifle or two and I really would rather stay between the $300-$600 range.

This saw might be a good option? Has a nice out feed table.
http://anchorage.craigslist.org/tls/4192607597.html

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Well........the craftsman would be my choice, its got the largest motor of the group, as well as a longer cord, arbor lock, better riving knife and a slightly better blade. Now....it has a shorter warranty than the ridgid (4512), but its my opinion that a bigger motor is worth more than the warranty.

·
Registered
570 Posts
Well........the craftsman would be my choice, its got the largest motor of the group, as well as a longer cord, arbor lock, better riving knife and a slightly better blade. Now....it has a shorter warranty than the ridgid (4512), but its my opinion that a bigger motor is worth more than the warranty.
X2

I want a new table saw as well and the Craftsman is the one I've been looking at.

·
Registered
1,302 Posts