Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first project, so any help y'all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

The second piece of furniture I bought when I moved out on my own was a beautiful rolltop desk. The cast iron rolls for the bottom are stamped with the date 1890, so that's the date I'm posting with it. Suffice to say, it's old, and with all the years it's not too surprising that the finish has faded, some of the joints are getting loose, and it's broken in a few places. Since I just moved, I'm taking the opportunity to clean it up, so it's currently in pieces in one of the bedrooms of my house.

I know that I don't want to get rid of the original finish, so I think that the first question is what is the best way to clean it? Then from there, what should I plan to do? Obviously fixing/replacing pieces that are broken, re-gluing any obviously loose joints. Should I be pulling things apart that aren't yet a problem to clean out old glue and re-glue those? What kind of advice do you guys have for this kind of project? Thanks!

·
Registered
27,644 Posts
This is my first project, so any help y'all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

The second piece of furniture I bought when I moved out on my own was a beautiful rolltop desk. The cast iron rolls for the bottom are stamped with the date 1890, so that's the date I'm posting with it. Suffice to say, it's old, and with all the years it's not too surprising that the finish has faded, some of the joints are getting loose, and it's broken in a few places. Since I just moved, I'm taking the opportunity to clean it up, so it's currently in pieces in one of the bedrooms of my house.