Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never used respirators before when stripping or staining, but with age and headaches comes wisdom.

I know I need one, but in looking at the store I guess I have no idea what I need.

I gathered the 95 rating is only good for dust.

More concerned with inhaling the stripper fumes and the stain fumes.

I have 8 chairs I need to get stripped and done before the garage becomes cold so I need to get going.

I generally use the strippers from HD, Menards, etc. Will a Stanley or AO, etc respirator with organic rated cartridges work?

Also I normally wear chemical gloves that come up about mid forearm when using stripper and long sleeves. Is that enough or should I be looking for more?

Right now I'm still in the hobby stage but with room running out in the house I'd like to start doing stuff for other people and have no aversion to getting properly setup when it comes to PPE.

·
Registered
27,086 Posts
I've never used respirators before when stripping or staining, but with age and headaches comes wisdom.

I know I need one, but in looking at the store I guess I have no idea what I need.

I gathered the 95 rating is only good for dust.

More concerned with inhaling the stripper fumes and the stain fumes.

I have 8 chairs I need to get stripped and done before the garage becomes cold so I need to get going.

I generally use the strippers from HD, Menards, etc. Will a Stanley or AO, etc respirator with organic rated cartridges work?

Also I normally wear chemical gloves that come up about mid forearm when using stripper and long sleeves. Is that enough or should I be looking for more?

Right now I'm still in the hobby stage but with room running out in the house I'd like to start doing stuff for other people and have no aversion to getting properly setup when it comes to PPE.